<transcy>VIDEO</transcy>

<transcy>STUDIO-WORKSHOP</transcy>

“If you want to create luxury today, you have to value durable products and responsible manufacturing. Handicrafts have always been doing this.

                                 - FRANK PRESSENTIN

Frank Pressentin

<transcy>CRAFTSMANSHIP, ART & DESIGN</transcy>

Frank Pressentin is a creative craftsman with artistic demands on form, material and quality. His brand ELBWOOD - The Hanseatic Penmaker moves with international ambition at the interface of applied art & design.

The focus of his work is the individual and small series production of high-quality writing instruments: Fountain pens, ballpoint pens and accessories.

The machines in the Atelier workshop are precise, old and mechanically analog. They are controlled by hand - not digitally. Frank Pressentin basically works from the full material and designs directly on the running lathe. Emotions are transferred to the work by hand - just like a sculptor. This guarantees that no piece is ever really the same. As he sees it, this is the only way to create truly unique pieces

For him, luxury has nothing to do with overloaded ornamentation. He prefers minimalistic design paired with exclusive materials. His design language is clear and reduced. Function is immanent. A writing instrument - no matter how precious - is always a tool. 

Frank Pressentin does not like things to look like they did on the first day after 10 years. He prefers materials that have character and naturalness. They change with time, develop patina and tell stories. If a thread squeaks, a drop of oil does help. 

Time is the all-determining factor in his work. When wood is involved, the number of steps from felling the tree to completion adds up to over 400, which naturally limits the amount of products available. 

Upon request, Frank Pressentin can make fountain pens and pencils according to your material and color preferences. In any case, a personal consultation by telephone or in writing is recommended.

VIDEO

ATELIER-WERKSTATT

“Wer heute Luxus erschaffen will, muss Wert auf langlebige Produkte und eine verantwortungsvolle Herstellung legen. Kunsthandwerk tut dies seit eh und je.

                                 — FRANK PRESSENTIN

 

Frank Pressentin

KUNST, HANDWERK & DESIGN

Frank Pressentin ist gestaltender Handwerker mit künstlerischen Ansprüchen an Form, Material und Qualität. Seine Marke ELBWOOD - The Hanseatic Penmaker bewegt sich mit internationaler Ambition an der Schnittstelle von Angewandter Kunst & Design.

Arbeitsschwerpunkt ist die Einzel- und Kleinserienfertigung von hochwertigen Schreibgeräten: Füllfederhalter, Kugelschreiber und Accessoires.

Die Maschinen in der Atelier-Werkstatt sind präzise, alt und mechanisch analog. Sie werden von Hand gesteuert - nicht digital. Frank Pressentin arbeitet grundsätzlich aus dem vollen Material und gestaltet direkt auf der laufenden Drehbank. Emotionen übertragen sich über die Hand auf's Werk – wie bei einem Bildhauer. Dies garantiert, dass kein Stück je wirklich gleich ist. Nach seinem Verständnis ist das der einzige Weg zu echten Unikaten

Luxus hat für ihn nichts mit überladener Ornamentik zu tun. Er bevorzugt minimalistisches Design gepaart mit exklusiven Werkstoffen. Seine Formensprache ist klar und reduziert. Die Funktion ist immanent. Ein Schreibgerät - egal wie kostbar- ist immer auch ein Werkzeug

Frank Pressentin mag es nicht, wenn Dinge nach 10 Jahren noch aussehen sollen, wie am ersten Tag. Die von ihm verwendeten Materialien besitzen Charakter und Natürlichkeit. Sie verändern sich mit der Zeit, entwickeln Patina und erzählen Geschichten. Wenn ein Gewinde mal quietscht, hilft ein Tropfen Öl. 

Zeit ist der alles bestimmende Faktor seiner Arbeit. Wenn Holz im Spiel ist, summiert sich die Anzahl der Arbeitsschritte vom Fällen des Baumes bis zur Fertigstellung auf über 400. Dies limitiert auf natürliche Weise die Menge an verfügbaren Produkten. 

Auf Wunsch fertigt Frank Pressentin Füllfederhalter und Stifte nach Ihren Material- und Farbvorstellungen an. In jedem Fall empfiehlt sich eine persönliche telefonische oder schriftliche Beratung.